End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

Profile

The DK Climate Change is an international programme at the University of Graz for outstanding doctoral students.

 

Making a difference. The DK Climate Change (DKCC) is an international programme at the University of Graz for outstanding doctoral students in the area of climate change. The PhD programme is characterized by innovative training with a special focus on interdisciplinarity. It makes a difference by building a scientific community with a shared understanding of the challenges of climate change and by reaching out to societal stakeholders. The DKCC thus educates a new generation of excellent researchers and contributes to societal transformation.

Strategies for transition. Anthropogenic climate change is one of the main societal challenges in the 21st century. It raises profound social, ethical and political questions that cannot be answered within a single discipline. Coping with current and future climate change requires mitigation, adaptation and compensation strategies that aim at transformational changes. The DKCC attempts to reach a better understanding of climate change uncertainties, risks and options for human action, in particular regarding critical thresholds, which may threaten the continuity of social and ecological systems. The researchers investigate strategies for the transition towards a low-carbon and climate-robust economy and society, which involve a fundamental transformation of economic, social, political and legal processes.

The training programme. In DKCC phase 2 (2018-2022) the programme offers 21 PhD positions in an excellent research environment in Graz. The training programme is characterized by a high level of interdisciplinarity and sets a best-practice example of co-supervision. The doctoral students are trained to become independent researchers who are educated both as disciplinary experts and accomplished at conducting interdisciplinary research. A mentor supports the students in pursuing professional and personal goals. Further training is provided in skills vital for research management and outreach, such as organization and networking as well as science communication. The DKCC’s research is organized in three research groups that create synergies through collaborative work. The aim is to foster joint publications and produce outputs that are relevant for different actor groups.

Added value in doctoral education. The DKCC structured programme creates added value for the involved institutes and benefits the University of Graz. It systematically connects the five faculties involved and raises the level of doctoral education. The interdisciplinary approach of the DKCC is reflected in not only the different disciplines involved – physical climate science, geoscience, climate and environmental economics, innovation and sustainability research, normative theory, and environmental law – but also the extensive research experience of the faculty members in international networks. In addition, the DKCC Scientific Advisory Board provides high-level feedback about the quality of DKCC research on a regular basis.

The importance of networks. International research environments provide new impulses, styles and approaches. Students are empowered to go on international research stays to promote their professional careers. Furthermore, national and international experts are regularly invited to give guest lectures. The DKCC Stakeholder Board strengthens the exchange of the doctoral researchers with practitioners and provides critical insights into the relevance of DKCC research results.

 

The Doctoral Programme Climate Change is funded by the Austrian Science Fund. Further funds are provided by the University of Graz and the Federal State of Styria.

Contact

Speaker Univ.-Prof. Dr. Lukas Meyer
Web:http://www.uni-graz.at/lukas.meyer

Contact

Coordination
Glacisstraße 27/I 8010 Graz
Dr. Ali Emre Benli Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 7403

Contact

Office Management
Glacisstraße 27/I 8010 Graz
Mag. Karin Osibow Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 7400

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:

End of this page section.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Profil

Das DK Klimawandel ist ein internationales Programm an der Universität Graz für herausragende Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen

 

Einen Unterschied ausmachen. Das DKCC ist ein internationales Programm an der Universität Graz für herausragende Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen im Bereich Klimawandel. Das Doktoratsprogramm zeichnet sich durch innovative Ausbildung aus und setzt einen Schwerpunkt auf Interdisziplinarität. Das DKCC machte einen Unterschied aus, indem es eine wissenschaftliche Community hervorbringt, die die Hand zu anderen Disziplinen, Wissenstragenden und Stakeholdern ausstreckt. Die jungen Forscher und Forscherinnen lernen frühzeitig ein geteiltes Verständnis für die komplexen Herausforderungen der Klimakrise. Das DKCC bildet somit eine neue Generation von exzellenten Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen aus und kann wesentlich zur sozio-ökonomischen Transformation im Kontext des Klimawandels beitragen.

Strategien für eine Transformation. Der anthropogene Klimawandel ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für unsere Gesellschaft im 21. Jahrhundert. Er wirft tiefliegende soziale, ethische und politische Fragen auf, die nicht von einer einzelnen Disziplin beantwortet werden können. Um mit den aktuellen und zukünftigen Klimaänderungen umzugehen, sind Klimaschutz-, Anpassungs- und Kompensationsstrategien erforderlich. Das DKCC strebt an, zu einem besseren Verständnis für Unsicherheiten, Risiken und Handlungsoptionen in Bezug auf Klimaveränderungen zu gelangen, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Schwellenwerten, welche die Kontinuität von sozialen und ökologischen Systemen gefährden können. Die Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen forschen zu Strategien des Übergangs in eine kohlenstoffarme und klimarobuste Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Sie gehen im Anschluss der Frage nach, wie die notwendige Transformation politisch und rechtlich umgesetzt und legitimiert werden kann.

Das Trainingsprogramm. In DKCC Phase 2 (2018-2022) bietet das Programm 21 vollumfänglich finanzierte Dissertationsstellen in einer hervorragenden Forschungsumgebung an der Universität Graz. Das Ausbildungsprogramm kennzeichnet ein hohes Maß an Interdisziplinarität und ist beispielhaft in seinem Konzept der Betreuung. Das DKCC bietet sowohl disziplinbezogene Ausbildung an als auch interdisziplinäre Seminare, Kolloquien und Sommerakademien. Die Forschung im DKCC ist in drei Gruppen organisiert, welche Synergien durch Zusammenarbeit entwickeln. Ziel sind gemeinsame Publikationen mit Resultaten, die für verschiedene Zielgruppen von Relevanz sind. Das DKCC setzt ergänzend dazu auf das Training von Kompetenzen, die in der Selbstorganisation, im Team, der Öffentlichkeitswirksamkeit und der Wissenschaftskommunikation gefragt sind. Ein Mentor unterstützt die Doktorandin zusätzlich bei der Erreichung von beruflichen und privaten Zielen.

Mehrwert in der Doktoratsausbildung. Die Struktur des DKCC-Programms schafft einen Mehrwert für die beteiligten Institute an der Universität Graz. Es verbindet fünf Fakultäten und hebt systematisch das Niveau der Doktoratsausbildung. Der interdisziplinäre Ansatz findet sich nicht nur in den verschiedenen Disziplinen, die vertreten sind – geforscht wird in physikalischer Klimaforschung, Meteorologie und Hydrologie, System- und Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften sowie zu Theorien der Gerechtigkeit, Ethik, Umweltrecht und Ökonomik des Klimawandels – sondern auch in der umfassenden Expertise der Faculty Mitglieder und deren Forschungspartnern in internationalen Netzwerken. Der wissenschaftliche Beirat bietet darüber hinaus regelmäßige Qualitätskontrolle durch Feedback hinsichtlich der Forschungsleistung des DKCC.

Die Bedeutung von Netzwerken. Internationale Forschungsumgebungen schaffen neue Impulse, Stile und Zugänge. Die Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen sind angeregt, internationale Forschungsaufenthalte im Ausland zu verbringen, die ihre Karriere zu promoten. Darüber hinaus sind nationale und internationale Experten und Expertinnen regelmäßig im DKCC zu Gastvorträgen eingeladen. Das DKCC Stakeholder Board stärkt den Austausch der Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen mit Akteuren aus Sicht der Praxis und verleiht ein kritisches Verständnis für die gesellschaftliche und politische Relevanz ihrer Forschung. Die berufliche Karriere wird die Forscher und Forscherinnen später an Universitäten führen, in unabhängige Forschungseinrichtungen, an internationale Organisationen, in die Unternehmensberatung, die Wirtschaft oder die öffentliche Verwaltung.

 

Das Doktoratsprogramm Klimawandel ist durch den Österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds (FWF) gefördert. Weitere Fördergeber sind die Universität Graz und das Land Steiermark.

Kontakt

Sprecher Univ.-Prof. Dr. Lukas Meyer
Web:http://www.uni-graz.at/lukas.meyer

Kontakt

Koordination
Glacisstraße 27/I 8010 Graz
Mag. Dr. Olivia Koland Telefon:+43 (0)316 380 - 7404

Web:https://homepage.uni-graz.at/de/olivia.koland/

Kontakt

Koordination
Glacisstraße 27/I 8010 Graz
Dr. Anna Schreuer MSc. Telefon:+43 (0)316 380 - 7401

Kontakt

Office Management
Glacisstraße 27/I 8010 Graz
Mag. Regina Brunnhofer Telefon:+43 (0)316 380 - 7400

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.